Holistic Doctor Online - Holistic Family Practice VA

Unfortunately, tragedy touches us all at some point in our lives which makes it important to learn how to deal with grief and mourning. In the moment, it may feel like nothing can lift your spirits and pick you up, but as time goes on, there are certain coping mechanisms you can adopt to move forward as a person copes with physical symptoms of grief.

Moving on is a critical step because if you don’t accept what has happened, you may be holding onto the grief forever. Holding on to grief can generate physical symptoms of grief so it is important to learn how to deal with grief. 

Learning How to Deal with Grief by learning the Stages of Grief

It doesn’t matter what tragedy has happened in your life, physical symptoms of grief tend to follow a certain sequence of stages. While you may not experience all stages, you’ll likely experience a few of them, and most certainly will experience physical symptoms of grief if you have not learned how to deal with grief in a healthy manner. 

how to deal with grief, physical symptoms of grief
the 5 stages of grief (denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance) – concept explained with white chalk drawing and color sticky notes on blackboard

When you process these stages to run their course, you’ll be able to go on with your life:

  1. Denial. In the initial shock of a tragedy, your first reaction might be to deny that it even happened. At the time it may be the best way for your body to avoid the pain. Depending on what happened, this stage can last from moments to weeks. However, staying at this stage is detrimental since you’re never really facing or accepting what has happened. When a person stays in this stage of grief they tend to suffer most from the physical symptoms of grief because they do not process these emotions in a healthy manner. 
  2. Guilt. Guilt is usually a part of grief whether or not you even have a reason to feel guilty. When you look to a situation after it occurred, it’s easy to point out the things you “should have done.” Take the time to feel the pain if you have to, but make sure you strive beyond this stage as well. Doing so will prevent the physical symptoms of grief associated with guilt. Carry guilt can literally eat a person alive inside as it stems from a lack of forgiveness in self. 
  3. Anger. It probably won’t be long before anger sets in. You’ve realized that you have no control and there is nothing you can do to repair the tragic situation. It’s important to feel your anger, but at the same time you mustn’t allow yourself to be controlled by it. You don’t want to cause lasting damage to yourself or someone else such as physical symptoms of grief associated with anger. Anger impacts the heart, the cardiovascular system, and the blood. 
  4. Depression. This stage will often last a long time. While you might not feel like talking with friends, it’s an important thing to do when you’re feeling depressed. You may discover a lot of things about yourself during this self-reflective time, which is why it’s an important part of the grieving process, although you mustn’t dwell in your own worries or anxieties. Doing so can create physical symptoms of grief, with worry and anxiety impacting the digestive tract significantly. 
  5. When Things Get Better. You’ll soon notice that your life and outlook gradually improves as you learn how to deal with grief. You may not be back to yourself quite yet, but you’re starting to feel better. It’s important to keep your lines of communication open and remember that your loved ones want you to have a long, happy, and healthy life.
  6. Acceptance. This is the last stage of learning how to deal with grief. This is where you have truly accepted what has passed and you now feel hope for the future. Although things may have changed, your life is feeling back to normal otherwise.

Read Also: Life Changing Habits

When You Feel Stuck in Learning How to Deal with Grief

how to deal with grief physical symptoms of grief

It’s common to feel stuck in a certain stage of grief as you learn how to deal with grief. Grief is not a linear experience, meaning that you do not have to follow a straight line or hurry through it. This is especially true when it comes to depression. The best thing you can do is to keep trying and allow yourself to feel and feel fully. 

If you feel like things are taking longer than they should, you always have the option of seeking professional help. Holistic Doctors are able to help you with your unique situation and may have some simple strategies to help you move forward not just about the mental and emotional components of grief but also to address the physical symptoms of grief. It is best to take your time and breath through the emotional experiences of grief. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *